Introduction

The Stade Français is a sports association whose primary vocation is the education of young people through sport.
With its 12,000 members and 21 sports sections spread over three venues, the Stade Français is the largest and oldest sports club in France.

A club more than a hundred years old (since 1883)

Founded in 1880 by students of the Lycée Saint-Louis in Paris, the Stade Français took its name three years later, on December 13, 1883, during a meeting at the café Le Procope, in the heart of the Latin Quarter. The blue, the color of the University of Oxford, and the red, reminiscent of the Parisian ties, were adopted.

An innovative club: a precursor to the organization of sport in France


For the past 130 years, the Stade Français has been one of the biggest sports clubs in Europe and has played an important role in the revival and organization of sport in France.

The first international rugby matches (in 1892 against a London club), the creation of the first world championships in clay tennis (in 1912), the construction of the Roland-Garros stadium (in 1928), the creation of the international athletics meeting (in 1968) and the Paris marathon (in 1976).

A “Sport Attitude” club: give meaning to your children’s lives!

The Stade Français is centered on the education of young people through sport and its values, harmoniously blending initiation, competition and high-level.

With 20 sports schools and more than 4300 young people, the club defends the values of competition, of overcoming oneself as well as values of sharing, solidarity and respect. Six of our sections are recognized and labeled by their respective federations for the quality of their training.

The Stade Français has also been at the initiative of youth opening the door in many sports disciplines.

An Inter-generational Club

Located in the west of Paris, at the gates of Paris (in the 16th arrondissement, in Marnes-La-Coquette and Vaucresson), the Stade Français is a private sports club, an inter-generational club offering sports activities for all. Alone or in family, adults or children, on all of the sites of the Stade Français, you have the possibility to practice the sport that best meets your expectations and your level. Numerous classes and exercises are offered in each section, for young people and adults!

The Steering Committee

The Stade Français Association is administered by a Steering Committee of thirty members who are elected by secret vote for six years by the General Assembly. The Steering Committee is renewed by one third every two years. See more

Ethique et engagements

Youth education through sport

Since 1883, when it was founded, Stade Français has been working tirelessly to promote the education of young people through sport, which justifies its status as a recognized association of public utility. The Stade Français currently has 21 sports sections with more than 6,800 participants. In their sports schools, 4300 young people are offered the acquisition of the first sports gestures and the discovery of the rules and practices of each discipline.
Their actions are carried out along three complementary lines:

  • the initiation and education of young people to the values ​​of sport: taste of effort, sense of collective, respect for rules and partners, learning of victories and defeats
  • participation in the sporting competition which, for 130 years, has allowed athletes and stadium teams to win Olympic medals and championship titles from France, Europe and the World
  • the practice of sport for all, carried out within the framework of families.

It is by drawing from this real nursery of champions that the Stade has written the most beautiful pages of its history. This conjunction of initiation, competition and leisure, marks the style that the Stade Français strives to give to the various sports practices.

Environment

The Stade Français, with three sites in the heart of nature and greenery  of its environment (La Faisanderie in the National Estate of Saint-Cloud, the Haras Lupin, golf course in Vaucresson and the Courson golf course in Essonne).

At La Faisanderie, the Stade Français is in keeping with the values of the Park: respect of the layout of the landscape, compliance with ecological standards based on respect for the HQE approach …

The Stade Français strives to contribute to the development of the sensitivity of its members towards the environment.

Sportsmanship

The Stade Français is committed to transmit, beyond the respect of the rules, notions of friendship, respect for others and sportsmanship. Sport ethics are not only behaviors to be adopted, but also a way of thinking.

Solidarity

The Stade Français promotes the development of tournaments to welcome new populations of young people from all walks of life, including international ones.

As a continuation of this approach, the Association organizes certain events open to young people from neighboring districts in order to introduce them to the values ​​of sport and to make them aware of ecology and environment.

Handicap

Stade Français is committed to help people with disabilities and it promotes the sport for all. The Association has a handisport section that is characterized by its very good sports results (David Franeck participated in the 2012 Paralympic Games in London).
On the occasion of the Open Tennis Tournament at La Faisanderie (the 13-14 year old Roland-Garros), the site welcomes mentally challenged people from the Perce-Neige Association to share with young athletes moments of conviviality and exchange.

Similarly, the site of Haras Lupine welcomes high school students with motor handicap of the Lycée Toulouse Lautrec near the golf course.

Partners

Communiqué de presse

Accéder aux derniers communiqués de presse du Stade Français 

Introduction

Le Stade Français est un club associatif sportif dont la vocation première est l’éducation des jeunes par le sport.
Avec ses 12 000 membres et ses 21 sections sportives réparties sur trois sites, le Stade Français est le plus grand et le plus ancien club de sport de France.

Un club plus que centenaire (depuis 1883)

Fondé en 1880 par des étudiants du Lycée Saint-Louis à Paris, le Stade Français prend son nom trois ans plus tard, le 13 décembre 1883, lors d’une réunion au café Le Procope, au cœur du quartier Latin. Le bleu, couleur de l’université d’Oxford, et le rouge, rappelant les attaches parisiennes, furent adoptés.

Un club novateur : précurseur de l’organisation du sport en France

Depuis 135 ans, le Stade Français figure parmi les plus grands clubs omnisports d’Europe, et a largement contribué à la renaissance et à l’organisation du sport en France.

C’est au Stade Français que l’on doit l’organisation des premiers matchs internationaux de rugby (en 1892 face à un club londonien), la création des premiers Championnats du Monde de tennis sur terre battue (en 1912), la construction du Stade Roland-Garros (en 1928), la création du Meeting international d’athlétisme (en 1968) ou encore le Marathon de Paris (en 1976).

Un club « Sport Attitude » : donnez du sens à la vie de vos enfants !

Le Stade Français est centré sur l’éducation des jeunes par le sport et ses valeurs, mêlant harmonieusement l’initiation, la compétition et le haut-niveau.

Avec ses 20 écoles de sport, et plus de 4300 jeunes, le club défend les valeurs de compétition, de dépassement de soi aussi bien que des valeurs de partage, de solidarité et de respect. Six de nos sections sont reconnues et labellisées par leurs fédérations respectives pour la qualité de leur formation.

Le Stade Français a également été à l’initiative d’opens de jeunes dans de nombreuses disciplines sportives avec des équipes venant de tous horizons.

Un club intergénérationnel

Implanté dans l’ouest parisien aux portes de Paris (dans le 16ème arrondissement, à Marnes-La-Coquette et à Vaucresson), le Stade Français est un club de sports privé, un club intergénérationnel qui propose des activités sportives pour tous. Seul ou en famille, adulte ou enfant, sur l’un des sites du Stade Français, vous avez la possibilité de pratiquer le sport qui répond le mieux à votre attente et à votre niveau. De nombreux cours et entraînements sont dispensés dans chacune des sections, pour les jeunes et les adultes !

Comité Directeur

L’Association Stade Français est administrée par un Comité directeur de trente membres qui sont élus au scrutin secret pour six ans par l’Assemblée générale. Le renouvellement du Comité directeur a lieu par tiers tous les deux ans. Voir en détail – Cliquez ici

Ethique et engagements

Education des jeunes par le sport

Depuis 1883, date de sa création, le Stade Français s’attache inlassablement à la promotion de l’éducation des jeunes par le sport, ce qui justifie son statut d’association reconnue d’utilité publique. Le Stade Français compte actuellement 21 sections sportives regroupant plus de 7500 pratiquants. Au sein de leurs écoles de sport, plus de 4300 jeunes se voient proposer l’acquisition des premiers gestes sportifs et la découverte des règles et des pratiques de chacune des disciplines.
Leurs actions s’exercent selon trois axes complémentaires :

  • l’initiation et l’éducation ludiques des jeunes aux valeurs du sport : goût de l’effort, sens du collectif, respect des règles et des partenaires, apprentissage des victoires et des défaites
  • la participation à la compétition sportive qui, depuis 130 ans, a permis à des athlètes et à des équipes stadistes de remporter médailles olympiques et titres de champions de France, d’Europe et du Monde
  • la pratique du sport pour tous, exercée dans le cadre des familles.

C’est en puisant dans cette vraie pépinière de champions que le Stade a écrit les plus belles pages de son histoire. Cette conjonction de l’initiation, de la compétition et du loisir, marque le style que le Stade Français s’attache à donner aux différentes pratiques sportives.

Environnement

Le Stade Français, avec trois sites au cœur de la nature et de la verdure (La Faisanderie dans le domaine National de Saint-Cloud, le golf du Haras Lupin à Vaucresson et le golf de Courson dans l’Essonne), est garant du respect de son environnement.

A La Faisanderie, le Stade Français s’inscrit dans les valeurs du Parc : respect du schéma d’implantation paysagère, mise aux normes écologiques reposant sur le respect de la démarche Haute Qualité Environnementale.

Sportivité

Le Stade Français s’engage à transmettre, au-delà du respect des règles, des notions d’amitié, de respect de l’autre et d’esprit sportif. L’éthique sportive n’est pas seulement un comportement à adopter, c’est également une manière de penser.

Solidarité

Le Stade Français promeut le développement des tournois pour accueillir de nouvelles populations de jeunes de tous horizons, notamment internationales.

Dans la continuité de cette démarche, l’Association organise certaines manifestations ouvertes à des jeunes des quartiers avoisinants pour les initier aux valeurs du sport et les sensibiliser à l’écologie et à l’environnement.

Handicap

Le Stade Français s’engage auprès des personnes handicapées afin de promouvoir le sport pour tous. L’Association compte une section handisport qui brille par ses très bons résultats sportifs (David Franeck a participé aux Jeux Paralympiques de Londres en 2012). Et la section athlétisme compte plusieurs athlètes handicapés.

A l’occasion du Tournoi Open de Tennis à La Faisanderie (le Roland-Garros des 13/14 ans), le site accueille des personnes handicapées mentales de l’Association Perce-Neige afin de leur faire partager, avec de jeunes sportifs, des moments de convivialité et d’échange.

De même, le site du Haras Lupin accueille des lycéens à handicap moteur du Lycée Toulouse Lautrec avoisinant le golf.